About Our Parish

The Parish was founded on November 14, 1975. Just about that time, Elizabeth Ann Seton was canonized as the first native-born American Saint.

Our first Pastor was the Rev. Joseph M. Fowler (1975-1986), followed by the Rev. J. Richard Sullivan (1986-1995).

In June of 1995 St. Elizabeth Ann Seton was "clustered" with St. Mary due to the shortage of priests. For this period of time the Rev. Robert Abel was named Pastor of St. Mary Church and Administrator of St. Elizabeth Seton Church, and the Rev. Gerald Timmel was named our Associate Pastor here at St. Elizabeth Ann Seton. In June of 1999, the Rev. Thomas Hommrich became the full time Pastor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton and St. Mary. In July 2005, Father Tom became the Pastor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton and St. Luke Parishes and Father Ken Fortener was named Associate Pastor at both Parishes.

Father Tom retired in June, 2008 and the Rev. Robert Dale Cieslik became the new Pastor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton (2008-2012). In June 2012, the Rev. Johnny Johnson became the Canonical Admimistrator. July 2014, Father Maurice Hayes, OFM, Conv was named Pastor.; he retired in August 2020 and Rev. T. Anthony Smith was assigned as Administrator Pro-tempore until Father Albert Añover was named Pastor in May 2021.

Jim Olrich was ordained as our first Permanent Deacon and served from August 1976 until his retirement on July 31, 2021); Paul George served as Permanent Deacon here from 1993-1995, when he was transferred to St. Mary. Sister Virginia Blair, S.C.N., was Pastoral Associate from 1975-1981, and Sister Anne Magruder from 1981-1982. Sister Alice Casper, S.C.N., served as Pastoral Associate from July 5, 1983- December 31, 2002. Upon Sister Alice's retirement at the end of 2002, Margee Joseph was named Pastoral Associate and served from December 2002-June 2013. After Margee's retirement, Sister Karla Kaelin, OSU-MSJ was hired as Director of Religious Education.

The Church building was dedicated on July 24, 1977 by Archbishop Thomas J. McDonough in honor of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton. The original back building or social hall was dedicated on June 27, 1981, and the bells on the tower were dedicated on August 17, 1985. Seton Center includes the gymnasium, the Youth Ministry Office, eight rooms to be used for catechesis and formation, and five offices, and was dedicated by Archbishop Thomas C. Kelly on February 24, 2002.